Home DUI Multiple DUI Defense

Grand Junction Multiple DUI Defense Lawyers


We Handle Subsequent DUI & DWAI & DUID Offenses

Colorado takes the crime of impaired driving very seriously. Even a first-time driving under the influence (DUI) charge can lead to a suspended license, significant fines, and possible jail time. These penalties become harsher with every subsequent conviction, leading to years behind bars.

Preventing conviction is no easy task, however. The prosecution will want to make an example of you and are likely to throw every charge they can onto your case. This is where an experienced attorney needs to step in. With the help of our team at Peters & Nolan, LLC, you can receive the best legal defense offered in Colorado. It is vital for your freedom and future that you contact the skilled Grand Junction DUI attorneys at Peters & Nolan, LLC. Call (970) 243-4357 for a free case evaluation.

Back to Top

Penalties for Multiple DUI Offenses

A charge of driving under the influence (DUI) is taken very seriously in Colorado. This means that the penalties you face will be incredibly harsh and have a serious impact on your ability to live your life. Alarmingly, these penalties will only get worse with every subsequent arrest and conviction.

First-Time DUI Offense:

The court is likely to go easier on you, as a first offense could be considered a one-off mistake. However, that does not mean the penalties are light. They include:

  • Fines of $600 to $1,000.
  • Driver’s license revoked for 9 months (you may be able to get your driving privileges reinstated if you agree to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle for at least 2 years).
  • Mandatory community service of up to 120 hours.
  • Required to complete a qualified drug and alcohol education and therapy program (which the driver must pay for). Failure to complete this program can result in 5 days to 1 year in jail.

Second-Time DUI Offense:

Once you are facing a second DUI, the court will start treating you harshly. In their eyes, you were already punished once and failed to learn your lesson. This means your penalties may be:

  • Fines of up to $1,500.
  • Driver’s license revoked for 12 months (you may be able to get your driving privileges reinstated if you agree to have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle).
  • Mandatory community service of up to 120 hours.
  • Required to complete a Level II qualified drug and alcohol education and therapy program (which the driver must pay for).
  • 10 days to 1 year in jail.
  • Up to 4 years’ probation.
  • Classification as a “Persistent Drunk Driver” which would require proof of financial responsibility (SR-22 insurance coverage) for at least 2 years.

Third-Time DUI Offense:

After your second DUI conviction, to the court, you have proven yourself to be unreliable and unable to act as a responsible member of society. As such, for a third conviction, you could be facing:

  • Fines of up to $1,500.
  • Driver’s license revoked for 2 years.
  • Mandatory community service of up to 120 hours.
  • Required to complete a Level III qualified drug and alcohol education and therapy program (which the driver must pay for).
  • 60 days to 1 year in jail.
  • Up to 4 years’ probation.
  • Classification as a “Persistent Drunk Driver” which would require proof of financial responsibility (SR-22 insurance coverage) for at least 3 years;
  • Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device for a minimum of 2 years after getting your driving privileges back.

Four or More DUI Offenses:

Once a driver reaches his fourth DUI offense, it is no longer a misdemeanor charge; it becomes a class 4 felony. On top of the penalties, you will also be considered a felon, which could result in the loss of certain rights, such as international travel, firearm ownership, and your ability to vote. Penalties for a class 4 felony DUI conviction include:

  • 2 to 6 years in prison. Depending on the circumstances, this prison term may be lowered to a minimum of 1 year, or expanded to up to 12 years.
  • Fines of $2,000 to $500,000.
  • A minimum of 3 years of mandatory parole.

Back to Top

Aggravating Crimes and Factors

When you are arrested, you are rarely ever charged with just one offense. Instead, the prosecution will use every tool they have to make sure you face as harsh a penalty as possible. When it comes to DUI charges, there are a few other factors that can lead to your sentence being extended and your fines raised.

A high BAC: The legal blood alcohol content (BAC) limit for drivers is 0.08%. This can be reached with a few beers, or a couple harder drinks. As such, going over the BAC can be surprisingly easy. However, having a 0.20% BAC can result in a charge of aggravated DUI, which carries harsher penalties than a standard DUI charge.

Causing an accident: It is one thing to be pulled over by an officer who suspects that you have a high BAC; it is another to cause an accident. These crashes often cause property damage and bodily harm, both of which can lead to the prosecution pushing for harsher penalties.

Leaving the scene: If you crashed, running from the scene of the collision without exchanging information with any victims would be considered a hit-and-run. A hit-and-run will be treated harshly by the court, especially if it is combined with a DUI charge.

Endangering a child: If there is someone under the age of 18 in the car during a DUI arrest, it could be considered child endangerment. This will result in harsher penalties, which means a longer jail sentence and potentially higher fines.

Back to Top

DMV Hearings After a DUI

A DUI charge is unique in that your criminal trial is not the only one you need to worry about. While penalties like fines and jail time will be determined by the criminal court system, the fate of your driving privileges will be determined by the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). After you’ve been charged with a DUI, you will be sent a Notice of Revocation, which will set a time frame for you to request a DMV hearing.

While legal representation is not required at this hearing (as it is considered administrative, not legal), it is still recommended. Your attorney will know how best to present your case. Once you have spoken with an attorney, you can then proceed with the hearing. During the hearing, an appointed hearing officer will look over the evidence and determine whether you committed the alleged crimes. If the officer determines that you did, then they will issue a license revocation. These are most often temporary, allowing you to recover your license after a set period of time.

While losing your license doesn’t sound as bad as going to jail, keep in mind that a license allows you to live independently, go grocery shopping, and commute to your job. You could be facing serious consequences if you lose the ability to drive, even if it is temporary. That is why working with an experienced lawyer is key.

Back to Top

Defending Your Freedom

Whether it is in a court of law or a DMV hearing, you need a strong defense. DUIs, especially if you have already faced a DUI charge in the past, can lead to serious consequences that will impact you for the rest of your life. The only way to mitigate these consequences is to hire an attorney who can work smarter and harder to protect you. At Peters & Nolan, LLC, some defenses we utilize for DUI charges include:

  • That the chemical test results issued a false positive
  • That the arresting officer mistook the signs of inebriation
  • That you were driving under duress
  • That you were not the one driving
  • That the officer committed misconduct

Of course, your case is unique. It may be that none of these defenses should be used. That is why you need to speak with our lawyers, who are prepared to launch an in-depth investigation in your case so they can find what defense will aid you the most. Your reputation, ability to earn an income, and freedom are at stake when you face multiple DUI charges, not to mention your family’s future. There is nothing more important than making sure that you can walk away from your trial with as light a conviction as possible. To get the best defense available in Grand Junction, contact the seasoned DUI attorneys at Peters & Nolan, LLC. For a free initial consultation, call (970) 243-4357.

Back to Top

Contact us today for a Free Consultation

Call Peters & Nolan, LLC at 970-243-4357 or contact us online today to schedule your free consultation.

About Us

Peters & Nolan, LLC is your ideal source for high quality legal representation throughout the state of Colorado. Known for being personable and responsive, attorneys Andrew J. Peters and Andrew Nolan are aggressive trial lawyers with an excellent record of trying and settling cases in criminal defense, DUI/DWAI and personal injury.

After a Traumatic Event,
Every Moment Counts.

Contact Peters & Nolan, LLC, for tenacious
and compassionate representation