Grand Junction Driving with a Suspended License Lawyers
When it comes to driving with an invalid license, you shouldn’t mess around. State and local police take suspended license violations very seriously, and you shouldn’t be surprised to find yourself charged to the maximum degree if you get caught.
At Peters & Nolan, LLC, we know the best approach to a charge of driving with a suspended license is a proactive one. You should do everything you can to avoid being convicted, because Colorado authorities will look at past offenses when sentencing you for any future crimes. It’s important to avoid having your record stained whenever possible.
To learn more about the kind of defense we can build for you, speak with one of our Grand Junction trial attorneys about your driving offense by calling (970) 243-4357.
There many ways your license can be suspended or revoked. Maybe you didn’t renew your driving privileges on time. While it is time-consuming and confusing to deal with the DMV, the State doesn’t consider it an excuse for allowing your license to lapse.
Otherwise, traffic violations can result in you losing your license. When a driver has accumulated too many points on his license, it can lead to a suspension. The system depends on the age of the driver:
- an adult driver (21 and over) will lose his license after accruing 12 in points in a 12-month period, or 18 points in 24 months,
- a young adult (between 18 and 20) after accruing 9 points in 12 months,
- a minor (under the age of 18) after accruing 5 points in 12 months.
Points are given for a variety of offenses, such as speeding, a failure to stop, following too closely, driving in the wrong lane, failure to yield to a pedestrian, and the like.
However, certain offenses will lead directly to 12 points and a suspended license. For example, a DUI arrest carries an automatic suspension of your driving privileges. Other similar offenses include leaving the scene of an accident, excessive speeding (by more than 40 mph above the speed limit), or attempting to evade a police officer.
If you have been accused of driving with a suspended license on the Western Slope, the police first have to make sure you were made aware of the suspension. If it can be shown that the DMV or courts failed to notify you about the revocation of your driving privileges, there’s a good likelihood the charges will be dropped.
The DMV has a system in place to regulate points and notify drivers when their point limit has been reached. When this works properly, you will be informed and have the opportunity to restore your license according to the regulations. Instructions for having your license restored can be found here.
Otherwise, the penalties for driving with a suspended license are as follows:
- From five days to six months in jail
- Up to a $500 fine
- An extension of your suspension
If the license suspension was related to an alcohol or drug offense, the penalties are as follows:
- From 30 days to one year in jail
- Between a $500 and a $1,000 fine
- An extension of your suspension
These penalties increase for repeat offenses as well.
At Peters & Nolan, LLC, our Grand Junction criminal attorneys are standing ready to defend you against charges related to a suspended license. Contact us today at (970) 243-4357 for a free consultation.
Peters & Nolan, LLC is your ideal source for high quality legal representation throughout the state of Colorado. Known for being personable and responsive, attorneys Andrew J. Peters and Andrew Nolan are aggressive trial lawyers with an excellent record of trying and settling cases in criminal defense, DUI/DWAI and personal injury.
- September 8, 2020
Why a Black Box May Save Your Truck Accident Case
- July 27, 2020
The Latest Technology in Car Safety Is Here
- June 18, 2020
Roadside Testing for Marijuana: Knowing Your Rights and the Process