Grand Junction Traffic Violation Attorneys
Driving is a privilege that most of us take for granted, but it can be taken away. The State of Colorado has a system that penalizes drivers for minor transgressions, and if you rack up enough points on your license, your license could be revoked.
Don’t wait to defend yourself. If you are facing driving-related charges in Colorado, the traffic defense lawyers at Peters & Nolan, LLC, can help restore your record and preserve your good name. Call us today at (970) 243-4357 to learn more.
If you are convicted of a traffic violation in Colorado, the court will notify the Division of Motor Vehicles of the conviction. Each conviction will cause a certain number of points to be placed on your driving record. If you get too many points within a certain amount of time, you can lose your driver's license. The following are point accumulations that can result in suspension of your driving privileges by age.
If you are an Adult Driver (21 years of age or older):
- 12 points in 12 consecutive months
- 18 points in 24 consecutive months
If you are a Minor Driver (18 years of age through 20 years of age):
- 9 points in 12 consecutive months
- 12 points in 24 consecutive months
- 14 or more points while you are between the ages of 18-21
If you are under the age of 18 years old:
- 6 points in 12 consecutive months
- 7 points prior to turning 18 years old
There are many ways that you can get too many points against your driver's license. Below are the various driving offenses and the points that are assessed for each violation or conviction.
|DUI (driving under the influence of alcohol)||12 points|
|DUID (driving under the influence of drugs)||12 points|
|Leaving the scene of an accident||12 points|
|Eluding a police officer||12 points|
|Speed contests||12 points|
|Speeding (40 MPH over the speed limit)||12 points|
|DWAI (driving while ability impaired)||8 points|
|Reckless driving||8 points|
|Speeding (20-30 MPH over speed limit)||6 points|
|Failure to stop for a school bus||6 points|
|Careless driving||4 points|
|Driving on the wrong side of the road||4 points|
|No insurance or proof of insurance||4 points|
|Improper passing||4 points|
|Failure to observe traffic sign or signal||4 points|
|Failure to yield to emergency vehicle||4 points|
|Speeding (10-19 MPH over speed limit)||4 points|
|Failure to yield right of way||3 points|
|Driving through safety zone||3 points|
|Driving in wrong lane and direction||3 points|
|Failure to signal or improper signal||2 points|
|Improper backing||2 points|
|Failure to dim or turn on lights||2 points|
|Operating an unsafe vehicle||2 points|
|Speeding (5-9 MPH over speed limit)||1 point|
A simple accident can turn into serious charges with significant jail time and stiff fines.
It’s important for drivers to understand the difference between careless driving and reckless driving. Careless driving is the lesser of the two charges and is defined as when a person operates a vehicle “in a careless and imprudent manner, without due regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic, and use of the streets and highways and all other attendant circumstances.” This can include a lot of different driving behaviors, including weaving in and out traffic or driving in a manner that is not suitable for the weather conditions. It should be noted that the term vehicle can include motorcycles and mopeds, or a bicycle or other non-motorized vehicle.
Reckless driving is defined as when a person operates a vehicle “in such a manner as to indicate either a wanton or a willful disregard for the safety of persons or property.” It must be shown that the driver was aware that his or her actions were dangerous and proceeded anyway. Reckless driving might include drag racing, intentionally cutting off another driver at high speed, or driving at twice the speed limit.
If you are driving in a careless or reckless manner and crash, killing someone, then you can be held responsible for vehicular homicide (also referred to as vehicular manslaughter). You must be found guilty of at least one of two elements to be convicted for this crime: either that you were driving in a reckless manner or under the influence of alcohol or drugs. A reckless-driving-based conviction would normally carry penalties ranging from two to six years in prison and $2,000 to $500,000 in fines. If a person is killed and the at-fault driver is found to have been under the influence, the penalties range from four to 12 years in prison and $3,000 to $750,000 in fines.
If you are facing life-altering penalties, you’ll need to consult with a lawyer right away. But even for a minor offense, such as careless driving, it’s critical that you have the most aggressive and professional defense possible, because prior convictions can be held against you in future cases.
It’s important to keep your driving record as clean as possible. The attorneys at Peters & Nolan, LLC have decades of experience defending drivers on the Western Slope. We’ll do everything we can to get charges against you reduced or dropped altogether. Call one of our representatives today at (970) 243-4357 to schedule a free and confidential consultation.
- Charges: Careless driving, leaving the scene of an accident, and failure to report accident
∗ Result: Dismissed prior to trial
- Charges: DUI and weaving with a BAC of .186
∗ Result: Plea to reckless driving, NO JAIL
- Charges: Charges: DUI
∗ Result: Plea to careless driving, dismissal of DUI charges
Click here for more case results.
∗ Not all criminal cases are the same. These results are from actual cases handled by the attorneys at Peters & Nolan, LLC. This is not a representation, guarantee or promise as to the results or outcome of your particular matter.
Peters & Nolan, LLC is your ideal source for high quality legal representation throughout the state of Colorado. Known for being personable and responsive, attorneys Andrew J. Peters and Andrew Nolan are aggressive trial lawyers with an excellent record of trying and settling cases in criminal defense, DUI/DWAI and personal injury.
- April 22, 2021
Understanding Colorado’s Homicide Laws
- April 8, 2021
Police Pullovers: Why You Need to Know Your Rights
- March 25, 2021
Who Can Claim Domestic Violence?